Lifestyle

Must Watch TV Shows

Being a Netflix fanatic, I always have to be watching a T.V show to keep me occupied. Currently I’ve been watching Riverdale which is a show about teens at a high school dealing with all the normal drama as well as the mysterious death of a local boy. Honestly, I’m hooked, but the problem is that the episodes go up weekly which is annoying because I’m more of a ‘binge watcher’ and like to be finished a series within a few days. But as far as binge watching goes, I’ve got loads of shows to recommend and because I can’t possibly pick favourites, these are in no order.

1.) My Mad Fat Diary

I feel that every teen needs to watch this show because you learn so much from it. Its about a girl who has been mentally ill and is trying to fit in with the ‘cool gang’. Honestly this makes me laugh every time I watch it, its hilarious and cringe-worthy while still dealing with real problems that exist. Mental health issues are such a big deal today and this shows deals with them directly from depression and low self esteem to eating disorders, not going to lie, I’ve shed a tear or two watching this. Its something everyone can relate to and is definitely a ‘must see’!

2.) Peaky Blinders

This is set in the 1920’s in Birmingham, England and is about a gang who work around the law to get power despite a police officer trying to catch them. This is honestly so good, I loved it! Plus, with Cillian Murphy playing the main role and Tom Hardy coming into season 2 as a gang leader, what’s not to love? This show is perfect for anyone and everyone as it features crime and action with a bit of romance meaning it ticks all of the boxes.

3.)Broadchurch

This is definitely in my top 3 favourites, honestly it’s an amazing show. It’s about a boy who is found dead on the beach and the local detective along with a new detective try to figure out what happened. I remember watching it and not being able to stop, there were so many cliff hangers that I just needed to keep watching. Every time I thought I knew who the killer was, they would drop a bombshell to keep everyone guessing. The ending was such a surprise as well, I wont give too much away but just expect the unexpected with this one.

4.)Sherlock

Again, another crime drama, but this one is different. For a start it has Benedict Cumberbatch, but it’s also quite funny and interesting while still having the serious element. Even though we always know Sherlock will figure out the mystery, this still has me on the edge of my seat and still manages to surprise me with the outcome every time. I also like the fact that the episodes are an hour and a half long, its like watching mini-movies, but it means the series itself is really short.

5.) Gavin and Stacey

Just because everyone needs a bit of James Cordon in their lives. Honestly, this makes me laugh no matter how many times I watch it, it’s comedy gold. This is one of those shows I always go back to, especially at Christmas because the Christmas special is the best. I would go as far to say that this series is the best British romantic comedy series out there.

6.) Gossip Girl

This is a drama about teens in the upper east side of New York City and all that comes with it in terms of drugs, sex and relationships. If you like pretty little liars, the OC or 90210, you’ll love this for sure. Another strong point for this is the abundance of good looking boys to admire, just saying. There are 6 season with over 20 episode each (except for the last season which only has 10) and that is bound to keep you hooked for months and calls for serious commitment.

7.) Awkward.

This is another coming of age show about a girl who has the worst luck in life and she’s just trying to survive high school. It’s quite funny because everything just seems to go wrong for her in the most public and embarrassing ways that you can empathise with her so much. Plus, there’s a few high school romances thrown in for good measure which is always a positive.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love all the classics like Friends, Inbetweeners and Family guy but when it comes to binge watching, these shows are definitely the best in my opinion. With crime, action, drama, romance and comedy, there is something for every one to watch. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

