beauty

My Skin Care Essentials (affordable)

Like everyone else, I have a few essential skin care products that I absolutely couldn’t live without. Being someone who doesn’t have perfect skin in any shape or form, I prioritise skin care above every thing else. My skin is so sensitive, especially around my eye area which gets all red, blotchy and flaky if I use the wrong product. I also have a tendency to get spots as I have a combination type skin with a very oily T-zone and dry rough patches elsewhere. I always stay away from baby wipes/make-up removing wipes because no matter what the brand they cause my skin to breakout and leave me with panda eyes which isn’t my greatest look. So without further ado, here are my holy grail products…

 Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water (combination and sensitive skin)

 For years I had been using the regular Garnier Micellar Water (pink bottle) every day without any complaints, however, recently I decided to change to the one for combination and oily skin after a serious breakout and I was really pleased with it. I use this every day without fail, first thing in the morning to remove any oils that have set in over night and last thing in the evening to remove my makeup and generally clean my face. This product leaves my skin feeling so much softer and cleaner than before and just generally a lot more fresh without leaving a greasy layer like many other similar products. Saying that, I would still highly recommend the pink bottle as it is still such a good product obviously depending on your skin type. I know this product caters to other skin types, for example there is an oil infused micellar water for dry skin, however, I don’t think this would be for me due to the nature of my skin but I have heard very good reviews on it from a few of my friends. Not only is the micellar water a great product that caters for all skin types, but its super affordable. I bought a 400ml bottle in Superdrug for £3.29 and it lasts me months, so I highly recommend to anyone on a budget!

 

 

 

 

 

Bioré Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser

 This is another one of the products I use on a daily basis, usually at night. I have been using this for years and have raved about it to my family and friends because I genuinely love it! This product is basically a face wash that lathers into your face and leaves it feeling minty fresh. I honestly cant describe the feeling on my face after I wash this off,  it feels so clean but also super minty. Its really soft on the skin and strips away any access oils which is great after a long day of wearing makeup. Again this is really affordable at around £5 for a 200ml bottle. This is really up there with my top favourites and it has made me really excited to try what else Bioré has to offer in their skincare range. 

 

L’Oreal Skin Perfection Cleansing & Perfecting Milk

 This is my go-to for when I have really dry skin and I want to put some moisture back into my face. It’s great at removing makeup and doesn’t completely strip your skin of oils which is good for someone with dry skin. Plus, its an added bonus that it is suitable for sensitive skin. As my skin is oily around 70% of the time, I don’t always pick up this product but its definitely my first choice if my skin is feeling dry and so would be great for someone who is looking for a cleanser that also hydrates. This product is surprisingly cheap at £4 for the 200ml bottle.

Lush Dark Angels Fresh Cleanser

 This is definitely my favourite product out of them all. I would say this is more of an exfoliating scrub than a cleanser but either way it does an amazing job! It really works in making my skin feel so soft, and the smell of the rosewood oil and sandalwood oil makes it so relaxing and perfect for a pamper night. It contains charcoal to draw out the dirt in your skin and it definitely does just that, I noticed a difference in my blackheads after only using it a few times. Its different from other scrubs in that it doesn’t strip all the moisture from your skin, it takes away the bad oils but still manages to hydrate the skin leaving it silky smooth. I would probably use this twice a week as I don’t like to scrub my face too often, plus a little goes a long way. This is priced at £7.25 per 100g pot and without a doubt its worth every penny.

Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturiser (Oil Free)

This is an oil free moisturiser than works on preventing spots and blemishes. Since I started using this about two years ago I’ve noticed a huge improvement in my skin, especially with regards to oil. it really has cut down the oil in my skin, especially in my T-zone area which has lead to less spots as a result. This is a relatively thin moisturiser which I prefer for the bulk of my face as think moisturisers often tend to leave my skin oily after a while. I apply this morning and night, however I tend to avoid my eyes as I feel they need a thicker moisturiser. This again is very cheap at £3.25 for a 100ml bottle which lasts quite a while.

Links to the above products:

Garnier Micellar Water

Bioré Charcoal Cleanser

L’Oréal Cleansing Milk

Lush Dark Angels Cleanser

Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturiser

Leave a Reply

